Paperback Ready for Release but waiting.

I have my proof copy of Reaping the Whirlwind and its beautiful! E-books make me a lot more money than physical books but there is still something magical about holding a physical novel that you wrote in your hands. So its ready to go and I could order it published literally with a few strokes on the key board, but I’m going to hold off for a while and here’s why. If you go look at the reviews for my last alternate history novel “Rebel Empire” you will notice that most of the initial one star “reviews” written by vitriolic individuals who find my work politically incorrect, or whatever gave there reviews on the paperback NOT on the ebook. They did this because Amazon will allow anyone with an Amazon account to review a paperback book (whether they actually bought it or not) BUT if only the ebook is available then only people who actually buy it are able to review it. I don’t have a problem with people reviewing my books. I respect their right to say they don’t like them. That’s fine. There’s lots of books I don’t like. But I do have a problem with people giving my books one star reviews when its obvious they never read the book to begin with. If you look at the reviews for Rebel Empire and look at the earliest and most vitriolic reviews they don’t have the tag “Verified Purchase” beside them. The basic info on character and plot included in those so called reviews were culled directly from the book description. I know this for a fact because most of those so-called reviews on the paperback were made BEFORE I sold my first paperback. Later, one of those people even took to harassing fans who liked my book by disparaging their positive reviews in the comments. Anyway that’s the reason the paperback is on very temporary hold. I have a book signing scheduled for September so  you can be certain the paperback will be available by then, and by then I’ll have enough genuine positive reviews to outweigh a handful of counterfeit negative ones. To my readers and fans I cannot express my gratitude enough about all the positive support I have received. It seems every novel I publish does better than the previous one and Reaping the Whirlwind is no exception. If I have any fans who don’t have the ability to read the e-book and you just can’t wait a little longer, I’m willing to mail my personal copy of the paperback to the first fan to ask for it (I only have one). To prove you’re a fan tell me your favorite character from any of my books and why and your favorite part of any one of my books and why. Thanks again to everyone for their support. The Last Hurrah will be out in a month or two!

11 thoughts on “Paperback Ready for Release but waiting.

  1. Adam says:

    Quick question when does the second civil war end???

    • Hey Adam! Great Question! Its only called the Second Civil War from the perspective of our timeline. In the world where my books take place it was called the Second War of Rebellion by the US and eventually came to be known as the War of 1869 by the Confederacy and the world at large. It was a brief albeit bloody war. The shooting started in April of 1869. The ceasefire went into effect near the end of June 1869. The final peace treaty wasn’t signed until 1870. In asking this question you’ve also hit upon the second “what-if?” of my novel and that is what if the Confederate Army (and the South at large) had been fresh, well equipped, and well armed with breech loading weaponry and other more advanced weapons when Grant’s Virginia campaign was launched? I have taken heat for portraying Grant the way I did but in all honesty I had him follow the exact same strategy and overland invasion route that he did in our timeline. I simply made the south better equipped and advanced the military tech slightly and it changes the entire outcome of the campaign. In By Force of Arms the dates of the major eastern theater battles ie (the wilderness, Spotsylvania, and Cold Harbor) roughly follow the same dates of their counterparts in our timeline (with the notable exception that they take place in 1869 as opposed to 1864).

      • Adam says:

        Thanks I was really curious about when the war ended great book series by the way and i’m also a southern from Virginia and i love alternate history’s where jackson lives to fight at gettysburg.

      • Adam says:

        So does the american civil war end with lincoln surrendering to lee at Washington D.C. after gettysburg or some place else?

      • Thanks to Stonewall Jackson’s tenacity, the Confederate Army of Northern Virginia shattered the army of the Potomac at Gettysburg. Mead managed to escape towards Washington with a small remnant but for all intents and purposes the Union Army of the Potomac had ceased to exist. Lee’s army subsequently occupied Harrisburg Virginia while the Confederate government sent a message to Abraham Lincoln offering peace. With the Army of the Potomac destroyed, Northern cities in riots, northern state governments and governors refusing to to further contribute to the war, England and France pushing for negotiations, and his own cabinet and congress pressing him to “just let the South go,” Lincoln gives in and negotiates a ceasefire with the CSA. He doesn’t officially grant them recognition as an independent nation but he does agree to withdraw all US forces from the eleven Confederate states and call of the blockade. In return the Confederate Army withdrew from Harrisburg back to Virginia. The CSA therefore earned “defacto” independence after Gettysburg. All of this is detailed in By Force of Arms.

  2. Dick Moncure says:

    Billy, sent you an email at

    billybennettsff@hotmail.com

    If that’s no longer active, could you let me know what address I should use?

    Loved Whirlwind!

    What is The Last Hurrah?

    thanks
    Dick Moncure
    moncure@ieee.org

  3. Dan Greenhouse says:

    Just finished giving you a 5 star review on Amazon. You really stepped up your game with this third novel. As someone who has literally read hundreds of AH books and short stories in the last 50 plus years, I must congratulate you on a job well done and if you every get to a book signing in San Antonio I will be the first in line. As for those who choose to nit pick about poor proof reading, I wouldn’t miss one second of sleep over it. For true AH fans, content is what counts most, not a missed comma. ( And BTW- I am a U. of Missouri journalism school grad and could care less about grammar mistakes in your books )

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, sir and for your kind review. I’d love to visit San Antonio again one day. I lived in the area as a child and attended Bracken Christian School in its earliest days. Great memories.

  4. John says:

    Hello Bill
    I have recently read your three “civil war” books, it took me a week to consume them all – work unfortunately gets in the way.
    I found them all fascinating and entertaining and perfect proponents of the “what if” genre. I look forward to the next one so please publish it post haste. I did not find them politically incorrect – how could they be? they are works of fiction set in the past and need a bit of dramatic embellishment. I was a soldier in my day (British Army) and am very pleased I never had to endure soldiering in the 19th or early 20th century!

    Keep writing

  5. Hugh Thomas says:

    Billy,
    I enjoyed your trilogy and am looking forward to the next installment. I do take exception to your background dealing with white/black relations. If you study the pre war South (I have a MS in history), you will find that overall there was not that much annimosity between the races. As long as everyone accepted their “place”, they all got along. You will also find there were Freedmen slave owners, both plantation owners & contractors. Also, a larger percentage of overseers were Blacks, either slave trustees or Freedmen (annecdotal evidence shows they tended to be harsher than white overseers. I would like to point out a logical observation: If you have an expensive piece of livestock or machinery are you going to deliberately abuse it? The average field hand would cost the equivalent of $50,000.00 – $75,000.00 in today’s currency, If he is a good worker, you are going to take care of him, if he’s not, you are going to sell him. Another thing most people don’t realize is that a slave could buy his freedom. Many skilled craftsmen did this by working outside projects.

Leave a Reply

