To me the most frustrating part of writing is trying to find professionals willing to read your work and give you a chance. I’m in the final stages of editing my new alternate history novel By Force of Arms. I’m trying to decide whether or not to keep trying to get myself a literary agent or publisher or whether or not to self publish. I’ve just about had it trying to get an agent. Most of the ones I contact don’t even bother to give me a reply. I appreciate those who at least say thanks but no thanks. My current plan is to start submitting directly to publishers. The problem is there are very few that will even look at a new manuscript from a new writer. Del Rey has published most of the alternate history novels I have seen and read but they won’t even look at my manuscript without an agent. Tor, Baen and Daw will at least look at it though it will take months for me to get a reply from each of them. My current plan is as follows:

1. Continue trying to get an agent by sending out queries.

2. Submit my manuscript to the few publishers that will look at it.

3. At the same time make all necessary preparations to self publish my book.

4. If my manuscript is rejected by Tor, Baen and Daw (a process that could take a year and a half to two years) and if I still don’t have an agent then I will self publish.

Does this sound like a sound plan?

To me the most …

Leave a Reply

